Stormy Sunday⚡☔🌀

Metro Manila is in a Signal #2 alert for typhoon. It’s 8:19 in the morning, I’m still in bed, contemplating to get a hot cup of chocolate drink☕ with marshmallows, grab a pen✏ and paper📄 to write my thoughts💭 on, yet, it is so not happening at the very moment😁. As I had convinced myself to get up, so did my 2 year old son👦, and found that my legs are the best place for him to sleep😴 on. So envision this: a mother struggling to type on her phone📱 just let her thoughts out. Goodbye👋, rain-watching👀☔ while sipping hot chocolate☕. Not that I complain. 

Awhile ago, I saw a lyric📝 video🎥 of Nichole Nordeman for Slow Down. Needless to say, I could relate. It made me emotional😭. Yes, I do have emotions💗. Staring at my son’s face, I have realized how much he had grown. From that tiny newborn👶 relying all his needs at me at survive to a finding-my-independence-and-exploring-boundaries toddler👦. Time🕛 – you pass me by swiftly. Now, he jumps all around, asks me to swirl him like the planets🌎 flying round and round the sun🌞. Yes, he loves the solar system and knows the planets. To add, he could also recite dwarf planets and man, I needed to research the names of some those dwarf planets. Hahaha😂. Funny, how my name is one of those😂. Nichole’s song🎶🎤 moved me, I wish my son could slow down, growing up. I remember those days📅 when he used to watch Harry Hugglemonster at 4-6 mos and he coos when he sees that yellow monster but now, that yellow monster is foreign to him. He now adores Tayo the Little Bus🚎, Dan the Monster Truck🚘 among others. His preferences had widen, retention and memory are amazing – 2d and 3d shapes differentiated and I am stunned😱 that he is knowledgeable of pentagon, hexagon, octagon. Forgive my yapping and semi-bragging, I did not know that kids his age could retain as much information. I guess, times have indeed changed. Children of this generation absorb information quicker, they are a lot smarter💡. The thing is, to me, he is still just a baby👶. I think all mothers could relate to this feeling. How can someone so innocent be so bright and capable of withholding vast information?

I wish he’d maintain his childlike innocence but I know it’s just wishful thinking. Soon, he’d grow up. Well, he is growing up now and there is no stopping the process 😊. Quick reminder to self: just enjoy the ride. I wouldn’t know what kind it will be, heck, my love for my son is stronger than my fear. Love conquers all! 💖🏆

I know I need to let him fly; I’d be the wind🌀 beneath his wings. I need to trust him to take the risks; no matter the outcome, he could trust me that I’d be there👊. Yes, I am scared that he will experience failure, scared to see him hurt because I’m the one who’d hurt more. Gosh, being a mother takes a lot of courage💪. I’m blessed I have God as my primary back up, my strength🙏. I drew strength from God to have strength daily and to brave the storms of life. 

It is a stormy Sunday but watching him peacefully sleep👶😴 has been my calm in any turmoil. No storms could damage my love💗 for my son and my bond with him. In fact, storms strengthen our relationship. Regardless of the many storms⚡☔ that will come my way, he could expect me braving the weather for him. I love you, son. 😘

Published by erisyap

So long status quo, I think I just let go. - 🎶Brave🎶

2 thoughts on “Stormy Sunday⚡☔🌀

Leave a comment